The Hatfields and McCoys, oregano and Gumby.

The History Channel has been showing the miniseries, “Hatfields and McCoys”, with tonight being the grand finale.  Kevin Costner, Bill Paxton and a slew great actors took on this project and I have to say, it’s been pretty good.  Costner is a great actor, as is Paxton.  Honestly, at the end of the day it’s about two families who hate each other and kill, kill, kill until they get tired of killing, then they stop.  Not much to base a 6-hour mini-series on, but overall they did a real nice job.  I love the name Powers Booth.  (He plays an elder Hatfield, who also happens to be the Justice of the Peace.)  It takes a lot of balls to name your son, Powers.  But, it works.  Anyway….you should watch this.

Every year, I plant a garden.  Lately it’s been a modified potted garden, but still, it’s a garden.  My focus is on herbs, hot peppers and tomatoes.  I love oregano, mint and basil.  When it comes time to buy the plants, I turn into this herb-crazed addict who can’t get enough plants.  I tell myself every year, “Craig, you don’t need eight oregano plants.”  I promised myself this year I would scale back.  You can only dry so much oregano, right?  At last check, I had seven oregano plants going.  If only you could dry it and smoke it.  Then I would be high and rich.  I did find a spectacular hot oregano this year and it is VERY good.  Anyway, if you need some oregano…let me know.

What the hell happened to Gumby?  He used to be so popular and now its like he swims with the fishes.  Did someone kill Gumby off?  I need to know.  Gumby, I think, was the by-product of a three day binder of cocaine and Jack Daniels, but he was a brilliant invention.  Who doesn’t love a oddly-shaped, green thing with eyes?  Anyway, I am sitting here anxiously awaiting his comeback.  Gumby could so kick Strawberry Shortcake’s ass.

I wonder what would happen if Gumby and Pokey had a familial war with Strawberry Shortcake and Apple Dumpling…

Leave a Reply

