The lives of people I’ve known and the journey.

Often, I sit back and think of topics to blog about.  It’s hardly a scientific procedure–I just start thinking of ideas until something seems interesting. 

Although Facebook’s allure is fast wearing off on me, there are benefits to subscribing–one being that I get an opportunity to see how the lives of people I knew have turned out.  It’s amazing to think of people I knew 20 years ago in high school and to look at where they are today–and think about what their journey must have been like.  Everyone I knew back then impresses me today.  Some have kids, others great jobs and still others who live in the most fascinating places.  Others, all of the above!  Regardless, to have a chance to see where life has taken them–it’s a rather fun experience.

I don’t need to google people to find out what they’ve been up to.  I can tell by the pictures people post and the smiles on their faces how much joy and pride they take in their lives and in their families.  Years ago, I would find myself a little jealous or envious of people who seemed to be doing SO well.  Today, I am thankful–that people I knew have had a chance to experience life and become happy where they are and in what they are doing.

That is what social network sites like Facebook should be about.  It’s a chance for people to post things for others to see and admire.  “This is my life now and I am proud to share it with all of you.” 

I find myself tonight somewhat sentimental which is never a bad thing.  And while I seriously doubt that most of the people I am directing this to will ever read this post, I’d like to say that I am proud to know all of you.  I am profoundly happy for each and every one of you and wish you all the very best in your life’s journey.  Stay true to your families and your children and always know that you have a friend in me if you ever need one.

There is nothing more gratifying than seeing a picture of a family together–the generations posed for a brief moment, capturing a time in their lives that they want to remember forever.  I know I do this with my family every chance I get and I know the reasons why.  When I take a moment to look at the lives of others, and see their pictures, I can only smile knowing they too are feeling the same thing.

Here’s to life and the journey.

 

Leave a Reply

