What Captain Crunch and Saginaw, Michigan have in common.

A friend of mine on Facebook posted something that got me thinking.  It was a list of “life’s lessons” from a 92-year old woman.  She listed 45 of them and truthfully, they are all great.  I am going to mention two that really stood out.

1. Don’t worry about what others think of you, it’s none of your business.  This is an interesting take on a subject that is near and dear to many of us.  We all care what others think of us.  Those that emphatically deny it are full of shit.  In fact, the louder you trumpet how little you care, the more I say you actually do.  Is it really none of our business?  I guess not.  After all, thoughts in your head belong to you and nobody else.  However, I have a caveat.  If those thoughts come spewing out of your big mouth, then how you feel about me IS my business.  But thoughts–those are private.  If I want to picture Reese Witherspoon naked, ain’t nobody’s business but my own.  Back to what this wonderful lady was trying to get across to us–shut up, live your life and don’t worry about what other people think of you.  If you live right and do good work, you will have their respect and you, along with everyone else will know it.  Amen.

2. If we threw our problems in a pile and then saw everyone else’s, we would grab ours back.  Dead spot on.  Problems come and go–it’s the way we manage them that counts.  Things change over time and time heals all wounds.  I love cliche.  Seriously though, the grass is rarely greener on the other side.  Live your life to the best of your ability and stop worrying about what others have.  Envy is a waste of time.  I bet, if you could read the thoughts of others, they probably think your life is spectacular.  I am constantly telling myself that no matter how bad things get, there is always someone out there that has it far worse than you.

So there you have it.  Words of wisdom from an old lady who has been around the block and seen just about everything.

One last item for today.  Did you know that there is an actual condition called “crunch mouth”, that one can get from eating Captain Crunch?  Apparently the hard, crunchiness of the cereal can cause abrasions on your palate and gums.  Ouch!  We should demand more from our breakfast cereals!  Hard, crunchy and abrasive.  Sounds like life in Saginaw, Michigan.

3 thoughts on “What Captain Crunch and Saginaw, Michigan have in common.

  1. I agree with both of them, especially the problem one.

    I always thought I had so many problems and then I joined this site where we where chatting about our different problems, and I was like, my problems are nothing.

    Anyways, you got a new follower over here!

  2. I have never eaten Captain Crunch and never been to Saginaw, Michigan but I agree with your thoughts and those of the 92 year old lady. I knew a man who told an antagonist, “There are too many good people in this world for me to waste my time with you.” I have many good friends and I value them highly but, as for those who think they are too good for me, I can live very nicely without any of them. I often thing of an old song that is titled, ‘Rye Whiskey’, and one verse goes, “They say I drink whiskey, well my money’s my own and them that don’t like me can leave me alone.”

Leave a Reply

