What toilet paper said to the donkey. (And Valentine’s Day)

Today is January 16th. Yes, that means January is half over.  If you are one of those people who has said. “I can’t believe January is already half over”, you are annoying.  Look, it’s been two weeks.  Enjoy the year and stop paying so much attention to the calendar.  With that, I give you today’s blog.

Valentine’s Day is just around the corner, which means 2 things.  1.) I do not have to purchase an expensive gift this year (again), for a significant other.  And 2.) Easter decorations will be out the next day at all Walgreens, Rite Aid’s and Hobby Lobby stores.  Cynicism aside, there is one very cool thing that I am looking forward to this Valentine’s Day.  My 2.5 year-old will be filling out his Toy Story Valentines for all the people he loves.  It’s a wonderful time in a kid’s life.  They are so filled with love and joy and all they want to do is show that by sending you a tiny Buzz Lightyear card that says, “I Lov You Dad, Lov, Brhaagdjdwkdy.”  It is perhaps the most precious Valentine’s card a father can receive.  I went through this with my daughter a few years ago.  She gave me a card that said, “To PTP, frum Pa.”  I still have it and always will.  These are the moments in life that a father just loves. I can’t wait to sit down with my son and help him fill out his first Valentine’s Day card to his sister.  This is indeed what life is all about.

This year, I think I am going to go out and get a box of Valentines for all the people in my life that I love.  I am going to write a special note on each one and let them know how much I love them.  Regardless of what I have put them through, at the end of the day it all about letting those special people in our lives know just how important they are.  Let this be the season of love and joy, I say!

It reminds me of what toilet paper said to the donkey.  “You are an ass and I have been putting up with your shit since the beginning of time…but I still love you.”

The most important gift we can give the people we love is a reminder of how important they are to us.  And no matter how many days pass on the 2013 calendar, that sentiment will never change.  Amen. 

3 thoughts on “What toilet paper said to the donkey. (And Valentine’s Day)

  1. enjoyed reading this. It’s so cute when they are first learning to express themselves with drawings and love notes!

    Ohhh, the dreaded valentines! I’m just thinking about how we have to cover 33-35 kids per class, for 2 classes. No special cards for the special friends as no one can be left out and it becomes an obligation.

    When I was my son’s 1st grade room mom, I gave the parents an assignment. They were provided a sheet of 5 hearts with lines for writing. Each heart had a title: “You make me smile when,” “You make me laugh when,” “I love it when you”, “You make my heart melt when” and “You’re the best at”- having the parents write down WHY their child is special- siteing specifics. I decorated small bowls and lids with glittery heart stickers, cut and folded the parents hearts/words and placed inside the special bowls called it “Sweet Somethings.” (instead of sweet nothings.) The kids LOVED it at their Valentine Party. They enjoyed reading special notes from their parents.

Leave a Reply

