What Marriage should be.

I wonder often….which is worse….gay marriage or heterosexual marriage between people who have no business being married in the first place? How many “straight” people get married for the wrong reasons? I fell into that category. If marriage is truly an “institution”, then let’s take the word “gay” and “straight” out of the equation and call it marriage. We should celebrate love for what it is. True love is so hard to find in our current society. When it’s there, it should be celebrated. Survivor benefits are a cop out. Let love be love and leave it at that.

PS: What is more embarrassing for a child? Introducing his parents (dad and dad or mom and mom), or having to say, “this is my real dad and this is my step dad and this is my mom’s current boyfriend.” Stability vs. Instability. Once again, the Heteros have done a super-duper job in that category as well. (Sarcasm). Let people who believe in marriage get married. (I’m still not changing my picture to the = sign).

PPS: It amazes me to no end that we live in a country where heterosexuals get divorced at a 50%+ clip, yet a great many feel homosexual couples shouldn’t have the right to marry. Maybe it should be the other way around? (I’m half kidding about my last sentence.) Let people who love each other get married. They can’t do worse than straight people.

3 thoughts on “What Marriage should be.

Leave a Reply

